Check below answers in case you are looking for other related questions:

Are there only seven planets according to islam

Mu' meneen Brothers and Sisters,

As Salaam Aleikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh.  (May Allah's Peace, Mercy and Blessings be upon all of you)



One of our brothers/sisters has asked this question:

i had heard in a sabak that according to our islam we consider or have importance only for 7 planets. what bout the other 2? neptune and pluto


(There may be some grammatical and spelling errors in the above statement. The forum does not change anything from questions, comments and statements received from our readers for circulation in confidentiality.)




Are there only seven planets according to islam?

In the name of Allah, We praise Him, seek His help and ask for His forgiveness. Whoever Allah guides none can misguide, and whoever He allows to fall astray, none can guide them aright. We bear witness that there is no one (no idol, no person, no grave, no prophet, no imam, no dai, nobody!) worthy of worship but Allah Alone, and we bear witness that Muhammad(saws) is His slave-servant and the seal of His Messengers.


Allah says in the Holy Quran Chapter 41 Surah Ha Mim verse 12: So He completed them as Seven Heavens in two Days and He assigned to each Heaven its duty and command. And We adorned the lower heaven with lights (stars) and made it fully secure. Such is the Decree of (Him), the Exalted in Might, Full of Knowledge.


Allah says in the Holy Quran Chapter 71 Surah Nuh verse 15: See ye not how Allah has created the Seven Heavens one above another


Allah says in the Holy Quran Chapter 23 Surah Muminoon verses 86-87:

86 Say: "Who is the Lord of the Seven Heavens and the Lord of the Throne (of Glory) Supreme?"

87 They will say "(They belong) to Allah." Say: "Will ye not then be filled with awe?"


The Arabic term for planet is ‘kawkab’ and for the heavens or skies ‘Samaa’, and when Allah talks about the creation of the Seven Heavens, He uses the word ‘Samaa’.


Beloved brother, the nine planets known and named by modern scientists are only a part of our Solar System. In fact, the Solar System, the Milky Way, and all the other millions of heavenly bodies and galaxies that are identified or discovered by man through the use of modern science are only a part of the first of the seven heavens mentioned by Allah Subhanah in the Glorious Quran! It is the consensus of the modern astronomers and scientists that to the best of their knowledge, even these heavenly bodies are in their terms, ‘endless’!


Thus brother, probably the speaker giving the lecture or the one who heard it misunderstood what Allah Subhanah says in the Holy Quran. When Allah declares about the creation of the Seven Heavens, He is not alluding to the planets of our Solar System, which only constitute a tiny part of even the first of the seven heavens!


Allah says in the Holy Quran Chapter 59 Surah Hashr verse 24: He is Allah: The Creator, The Evolver, the Bestower of Forms. To Him belong the Most Beautiful Names. Whatever is in the Heavens and on Earth doth declare His Praises and Glory, and He is the Exalted in Might, The Wise.


Whatever written of Truth and benefit is only due to Allah’s Assistance and Guidance, and whatever of error is of me. Allah Alone Knows Best and He is the Only Source of Strength.


Your Brother in Islam,





Related Answers:

Recommended answers for you: