Check below answers in case you are looking for other related questions:

Is Gelatin prohibited?

Mu' meneen Brothers and Sisters,

As Salaam Aleikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh.  (May Allah's Peace, Mercy and Blessings be upon all of you)

 

 

One of our brothers/sisters has asked this question:

Recently some one told me that gelatin was allowed for the same reason vinegar is. That is it undergoes a change. is this true? 

 

(There may be some grammatical and spelling errors in the above statement. The forum does not change anything from questions, comments and statements received from our readers for circulation in confidentiality.)

 

Answer:

 

Is Gelatin prohibited?

In the name of Allah, We praise Him, seek His help and ask for His  forgiveness. Whoever Allah guides none can misguide, and whoever He allows to fall astray, none can guide them aright. We bear witness that there is no one (no idol, no person, no grave, no prophet, no imam, no dai, nobody!) worthy of worship but Allah Alone, and we bear witness that Muhammad(saws) is His slave-servant and the seal of His Messengers.

 

Gelatin in its essence is not prohibited in Islam; but because most times the commonly available gelatin contains the fat of swine, and because the flesh of swine is forbidden in Islam; the consumption of gelatin products would also become impermissible.

 


Vinegar on the other hand is made from malt, or cider, etc., and because it is not intoxicating when consumed, it is absolutely permissible as food for the believers.

 

To consider something forbidden or permissible in Islam, one would have to search for the product or food in the forbidden list; if the product or food is not in the list of things declared haraam by Allah and His Messenger (saws), then that food or product will be considered permissible.

 

Allah says in the Holy Quran Chapter 6 Surah Anaam verse 145: Say: "I find not in the Message received by me by inspiration any (meat) forbidden to be eaten by one who wishes to eat it, unless it be dead meat, or blood poured forth, or the flesh of swine; for it is an abomination. Or what is impious (meat) on which a name has been invoked other than Allah's." But (even so) if a person is forced by necessity without willful disobedience, nor transgressing due limits; thy Lord is Oft-Forgiving Most Merciful.

 

Allah says in the Holy Quran Chapter 5 Surah Maidah verses 90-91:O you who have believed! Khamr (all types of intoxicants), games of chance, idols, and divining arrows are all abominable works of Shaitaan; therefore, stay (far) away from these so that you may attain success. Indeed, Shaitaan seeks to sow enmity and hatred among you by means of khamr (intoxicants) and gambling, and to prevent you from the Remembrance of Allah and from Salaah. Will you not, then, abstain from these things?

 

The flesh of swine (which obviously includes its fat) is in the list of the things declared haraam, and thus anything made from or consisting of the haraam product will also be considered forbidden for the believers.

 

Vinegar, or malt, or cider, etc. is not intoxicating when consumed, and thus perfectly legal for the believers to consume.

 

Your Question: That is it undergoes a change. is this true? 

The undergoing of change of a product does not determine its permissibility! The determination of haraam or halaal of a product is based on the commands and teachings of Allah Subhanah and His Messenger (saws). Grapes or dates or barley are by nature halaal for the believers as food, but because by fermenting and aging them in a particular manner, the liquid derived from the change makes them intoxicantsand all things that intoxicate are forbidden for the believers.

 

The flesh of swine is declared haraam by Allah Subhanah; and no matter how many changes it goes through, or how little of its flesh or fat is used in a product, that product will be considered haraam for the believers.

 

Whatever written of Truth and benefit is only due to Allahs Assistance and Guidance, and whatever of error is of me. Allah Alone Knows Best and He is the Only Source of Strength.

 

Your Brother in Islam,

 

 

Burhan

 


Related Answers:

Recommended answers for you: