Check below answers in case you are looking for other related questions:

Can i eat the chicken burgers and beef burgers from Mcdonald or anyother shop.


Mu' meneen Brothers and Sisters,

As Salaam Aleikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh.  (May Allah's Peace, Mercy and Blessings be upon all of you)

 

 

One of our brothers/sisters has asked this question:

Aslam-U-Alaikum !!!!!!!

i'm currently living in Usa for my education. My problem is about the food that we eat over here. I'm here for about a month and depending upon the fish burgers of Mcdonald and vegetable pizzas because i dont know how to cook the food Now eating the same food is getting somewhat boring bcuz i cant eat fish everyday i need something other than this to eat, I am fed up with this same food routine. Although Islamic centre is here to help us to get the Halal chicken.But as i told u that i dont know how to cook the food. So my qustion is that can i eat the chicken burgers and beef burgers from Mcdonald or anyother shop.

I shall be very thankful to u.

 

(There may be some grammatical and spelling errors in the above statement. The forum does not change anything from questions, comments and statements received from our readers for circulation in confidentiality.)

 

Answer:

 


Are burgers in America Halaal

In the name of Allah, We praise Him, seek His help and ask for His forgiveness. Whoever Allah guides none can misguide, and whoever He allows to fall astray, none can guide them aright. We bear witness that there is no one (no idol, no person, no grave, no prophet, no imam, no dai, nobody!) worthy of worship but Allah Alone, and we bear witness that Muhammad (saws) is His slave-servant and the seal of His Messengers.

 

If a few conditions (which are listed below) can be met, then the meat served at McDonalds (or any other restaurant) in the USA can be termed halaal. It does not matter if the meat is beef, or lamb, or chicken, or any of the halaal animals, the terms remain the same.

Allah says in the Holy Quran Chapter 5 Surah Maidah verse 5:All the good and pure things have today been made halaal for you; the food of the people of the Book (Jews and Christians) is halaal for you, and your food for them.

 

It is evident from the above aayah of the Holy Quran that the food of the People of the Book (Jews and the Christians) is halaal for the believers. Some people say that the People of the Book today commit shirk and since the food of the mushriks is haraam, therefore the food slaughtered by the People of the Book is also haraam. This deduction is incorrect, as the Quran itself condemns the Jews and Christians for invoking their Prophets as the son of Allah and thus committing shirk. But Allah has made the food of the People of the Book halaal as seen in the above aayah of Surah Maidah in the Holy Quran.

 

If the below five conditions are met, the food served by the People of the Book will be termed halaal for the believers.

 

The animal itself should be halaal in Shariah. (Even if they slaughter swine, it will not make it halaal).

The one who slaughters the animal must either be a Muslim, or a Jew or a Christian. If any other person slaughters the animal, it will not be considered halaal.

The animal has to be slaughtered and the blood should be oozed out naturally. It does not matter if the animal is slaughtered by hand or by a machine, from the front of the neck or from the back. What is important is that the veins must be cut to allow the blood to be oozed out of the body.

The animal should have been alive at the time of slaughter. It is a routine in most slaughterhouses in the West, that they electrocute or sting the animal with an electric shock, and then slaughter the animal. That is fine, as long as we are satisfied that the electric shock did not kill the animal.

The condition that Allahs name has to be pronounced is not a condition for the People of the Book, as long as nobody elses name is pronounced. If anybody elses name other than Allah is pronounced at the time of slaughter, it does not matter who slaughters the animal, the meat is haraam.

 

Whatever written of Truth and benefit is only due to Allahs Assistance and Guidance, and whatever of error is of me. Allah Alone Knows Best and He is the Only Source of Strength.

 

 

Your Brother in Islam,

 

 

Burhan

 


Related Answers:

Recommended answers for you: