Will the prayers of a person who eats haraam food be accepted

Dear Brothers & Sisters,
As-Salaamu-Alaikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh. (May Allah's Peace, Mercy and Blessings be upon all of you)
One of our brothers/sisters has asked this question:
Is it true that if you eat Haram food your salat does not get accepted for 40 days ?
(There may be some grammatical and spelling errors in the above statement. The forum does not change anything from questions, comments and statements received from our readers for circulation in confidentiality.)
Check below answers in case you are looking for other related questions:

Answer:

Praise be to Allaah.

If you eat haraam food, this will cause your du’aa’ to be rejected, hence it was reported in a hadeeth qudsi: “He is nourishedwith haraam, so how could his du’aa’ be responded to?.” The meaning is that it is unlikely that his du’aa’ will be answered. But salaah (prayer), which includes du’aa’ and other things, will still be accepted, in the sense that it serves to fulfil his obligations, and he does not have to repeat it. What was narrated was that it is the one who drinks alcohol whose prayer will not be accepted for forty days.

Whatever written of Truth and benefit is only due to Allah's Assistance and Guidance, and whatever of error is of me. Allah Alone Knows Best and He is the Only Source of Strength.

Related Answers:

Recommended answers for you:


Don't miss out to watch Islamhelpline sponsored Islamic Kids Competition

Click here for all videos