Permissibility of eating food cooked by kaafir (unbeliever)

Dear Brothers & Sisters,
As-Salaamu-Alaikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh. (May Allah's Peace, Mercy and Blessings be upon all of you)
One of our brothers/sisters has asked this question:
Can Muslims eat in restaurants owned and directed by people who are not worshipping Allah? For example, Chinese restaurants. Keeping in mind that the type of food in these places is not HARAM in itself but the people making this food are KOFFAR.
(There may be some grammatical and spelling errors in the above statement. The forum does not change anything from questions, comments and statements received from our readers for circulation in confidentiality.)
Check below answers in case you are looking for other related questions:

Answer:

Al-hamdu lillah (praise be to Allah). There is no objection for a Muslim to eat from food that a kaafir (unbeliever), whether polytheist or otherwise, has cooked, as the issue of cooking does not involve slaughtering according to Islamic guidelines so that we would require the person to be from ahl il-kitaab (People of the Book) among the kuffar. In fact, it is only a matter of cooking, so the only issues that concern us are cleanliness and the avoidance of najasa (impurity), and likewise that nothing haram (forbidden) is mixed with the food such as khamr (wine or alcoholic beverages) or lard.

 May Allah protect us from harm, evil and the things he has forbidden (al-muharramaat).

Whatever written of Truth and benefit is only due to Allah's Assistance and Guidance, and whatever of error is of me. Allah Alone Knows Best and He is the Only Source of Strength.

Related Answers:

Recommended answers for you: