Ruling on non-alcoholic beer
Dear Brothers & Sisters,As-Salaamu-Alaikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh. (May Allah's Peace, Mercy and Blessings be upon all of you)
One of our brothers/sisters has asked this question:
Is it O.K. to drink non alcoholic beer?
(There may be some grammatical and spelling errors in the above statement. The forum does not change anything from questions, comments and statements received from our readers for circulation in confidentiality.)
Check below answers in case you are looking for other related questions:
The basic ruling on food and drink is that things are halaal, except for those which are specifically described in sharee’ah as being haraam, such as alcoholic drinks. If the drink includes any intoxicating substance, it is haraam. On this basis it may be said that beer (a drink made from barley), if it is intoxicating when drunk in large amounts, then it is not permissible to drink it. It was reported that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Every intoxicating substance is haraam.” (Narrated by al-Bukhaari, al-Ahkaam, 6637) And it was narrated that ‘Aa’ishah said: “The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: ‘Every intoxicating substance is haraam, and whatever intoxicates in large amounts, a handful of it is haraam.’” (Narrated by al-Tirmidhi, al-Ashribah, 1789; classed as saheeh by al-Albaani in Saheeh Sunan al-Tirmidhi, 1521). Al-Teebi said: “ ‘a handful of it’ is an expression meaning a small amount.” And Allaah knows best.
Whatever written of Truth and benefit is only due to Allah's Assistance and Guidance, and whatever of error is of me. Allah Alone Knows Best and He is the Only Source of Strength.
Reconciling between the prohibition on turning wine into vinegar and the hadith “What a good condiment vinegar is”
Recommended answers for you:
Don't miss out to watch Islamhelpline sponsored Islamic Kids Competition