Check below answers in case you are looking for other related questions:

Someone told me recently that PICKLES (food item) which is widely used in india, pakistan e.t.c is haram or makrooh.please kindly clarify this.

Mu' meneen Brothers and Sisters,

As Salaam Aleikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh.  (May Allah's Peace, Mercy and Blessings be upon all of you)

 

One of our brothers/sisters has asked this question:

dear Brother in Islam, Assalamu`alaikum.

someone told me recently that PICKLES (food item) which is widely used in india, pakistan e.t.c is haram or makrooh.please kindly clarify this.

hope to recieve answer soon.

ALLAH HAFIZ.

 

(There may be some grammatical and spelling errors in the above statement. The forum does not change anything from questions, comments and statements received from our readers for circulation in confidentiality.)

 

Answer:

 

Pickle food unlawful

In the name of Allah, We praise Him, seek His help and ask for His forgiveness. Whoever Allah guides none can misguide, and whoever He allows to fall astray, none can guide them aright. We bear witness that there is none worthy of worship but Allah Alone, and we bear witness that Muhammad (saws) is His slave-servant and the seal of His Messengers.

 

To the best of our knowledge the food item pickles which is widely used as a condiment in the Indian sub-continent is normally made up of vegetables preserved in brine, or vinegar, or mustard, etc.; and there is absolutely nothing in the Quran and the Sunnah to suggest that such pickles are haraam (unlawful) or makrooh (absolutely disliked) in Shariah.

 

Allah Says in the Holy Quran Chapter 6 Surah Anaam verse 145:

145 Say (O Mohamed (saws)): "I find not in the Message received by me by inspiration any (food) forbidden to be eaten by one who wishes to eat it unless it be dead meat, or blood poured forth, or the flesh of swine for it is an abomination, or what is impious (meat) on which a name has been invoked other than Allah's."


 

Provided the ingredients used to make the pickle are not specifically declared haraam by Allah and His Messenger (saws), that pickle would be absolutely lawful for the believers to consume as food.

 

Your Question: someone told me recently that PICKLES (food item) which is widely used in india, pakistan e.t.c is haram or makrooh.please kindly clarify this.

Allah Says in the Holy Quran Chapter 5 Surah Maidah verses 87-88:

87 O ye who believe! Make not unlawful the good things which Allah hath made lawful for you but commit no excess: for Allah loves not those given to excess.

88 Eat of the things which Allah hath provided for you lawful and good: but fear Allah in Whom ye believe.

 

Allah Says in the Holy Quran Chapter 16 Surah Nahl verses 114-116:

114 So eat of the sustenance which Allah has provided for you lawful and good; and be grateful for the favors of Allah, if it is indeed He whom ye serve.

115 He has only forbidden you dead meat, and blood, and the flesh of swine, and any (food) over which the name of other than Allah has been invoked. But if one is forced by necessity without willful disobedience nor transgressing due limits, then Allah is Oft-Forgiving Most Merciful.

116 But say not for any false thing that your tongues may put forth "This is lawful and this is forbidden" so as to ascribe false things to Allah. For those who ascribe false things to Allah will never prosper.

 

Only Allah and His Messenger (saws) have the exclusive right to declare what is lawful for the believers and what is unlawful; and one who sincerely fears Allah and the Last Day must be extremely careful when declaring something to be halaal or haraam without specific evidence from the Quran and the Sunnah.

 

Just as it would be a grave sin to declare something lawful which Allah and His Messenger (saws) have prohibited (dead meat, swine, intoxicants,wine, etc.); similarly it is also a grave sin to declare haraam what Allah and His Messenger (saws) have declared halaal!

 

Ask the brother or sister who told you that the condiment of pickle is haraam or makrooh in Islam to provide their evidence from the Quran or the Sunnah for their judgment..and if they cannot provide the evidence, then know with absolute conviction that they have made this determination by themselves and without any right or authority or evidence whatsoever!

 

Whatever written of Truth and benefit is only due to Allahs Assistance and Guidance, and whatever of error is of me alone. Allah Alone Knows Best and He is the Only Source of Strength.

 

Your brother and well wisher in Islam,

 

 

Burhan


Related Answers:

Recommended answers for you: