Check below answers in case you are looking for other related questions:

Are Kefir grains the manna which Allah bestowed upon the Israelites?

Mu' meneen Brothers and Sisters,

As Salaam Aleikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh.  (May Allah's Peace, Mercy and Blessings be upon all of you)

 

 

One of our brothers/sisters has asked this question:

I am thinking of making probiotic cheese using these kefir grains so that I can be assured the cheese is halal and healthy, instead of using imported cultures/rennet etc. I came across Kefir on the internet and would like your opinion whether what they have quoted about the origin of kefir is correct. Is Kefir manna that came from the sky for the israelites as revealed in the Quran? Kindly read the attachments, the author is an Australian and I believe christian. I would be very grateful for your opinion.

 

Thank you very much for your response to my 1st question earlier. I feel a big load lifted. Assalammualaikum.


 

(There may be some grammatical and spelling errors in the above statement. The forum does not change anything from questions, comments and statements received from our readers for circulation in confidentiality.)

 

Answer:

 

Are Kefir grains the manna which Allah bestowed upon the Israelites?

In the name of Allah, We praise Him, seek His help and ask for His forgiveness. Whoever Allah guides none can misguide, and whoever He allows to fall astray, none can guide them aright. We bear witness that there is no one (no idol, no person, no grave, no prophet, no imam, no dai, nobody!) worthy of worship but Allah Alone, and we bear witness that Muhammad (saws) is His slave-servant and the seal of His Messengers.

 

Grain is not amongst the list of foods that Allah and His Messenger (saws) have declared haraam; therefore all types of grains are considered halaal for the believers.

 

We have read with interest the article about the Kefir grains from the link provided by you, but we can neither confirm with authority, nor deny that the Kefir grains are indeed the manna which Allah bestowed upon the Israelites as food during their stay in the desert of Sinai. The manna was something that fell from the sky on the grounds (like dew) as a blessing and favor from Allah Subhanah along with salwa (quails), which the Israelites used as food during their days of wandering in the desert. But there is absolutely no evidence that the Kefir grains are indeed the same as the manna which Allah bestowed upon the Israelites.

 

Whatever written of Truth and benefit is only due to Allahs Assistance and Guidance, and whatever of error is of me. Allah Alone Knows Best and He is the Only Source of Strength.

 

Your Brother in Islam,

 

 

Burhan

 


Related Answers:

Recommended answers for you: